‘Would You Wear Your Dog’s Fur ?’ – Twiggy asks

Campain against wearing natural fur advanced with another one voice – fashion icon Twiggy speaking against wearig fur. Fashion icon of the 60ies Twiggy is with her dog Jasmine posing for shoots in this anti fur campain ongoing by PETA.

Far from being nature-friendly wearig natural fur is still assosiates with glam, sexuality, or success sometimes (in such countries as France or Russia), so encouraging still production of new fashion designs that include natural fur, including those expensive or rare  furs.

But far or less, as Twiggy mentions, ‘the only difference between our ‘best friends’ and animals killed for thier fur is how we treat them’.

– You rose to fame in the ’60s, and as most models did, you wore fur. When did you first become aware of the cruelty involved in the fur trade?

– I’m ashamed to say I did wear fur in the mid-60s, but I blame my ignorance and youth. Since the age of about 20 when I became aware of the cruelty involved in the fur trade, I made the decision never to wear fur again. I have been totally opposed to wearing fur ever since, and I do all I can to help organisations like PETA that work to stop this cruelty.

Twiggy_anti_natural_Fur_Advertising_for_PETA

Twiggy posing with Jasmine: "The only difference between our 'best friends' and animals killed for thier fur is how we treat them.'

– You rose to fame in the ’60s, and as most models did, you wore fur. When did you first become aware of the cruelty involved in the fur trade?

– I’m ashamed to say I did wear fur in the mid-60s, but I blame my ignorance and youth. Since the age of about 20 when I became aware of the cruelty involved in the fur trade, I made the decision never to wear fur again. I have been totally opposed to wearing fur ever since, and I do all I can to help organisations like PETA that work to stop this cruelty.

– In addition to being an actor, model and author, you are a designer. Do you always make a point of telling companies that you refuse to use fur in your designs?

– Absolutely. No fur is ever used in my Twiggy line of clothes for Littlewoods. Also, as an actor, I refuse to have fur in any productions I might be involved in.

-Do you have any animal companions? If so, can you tell us a bit about them?

-I have a beautiful black cat called Titania whom I love and adore. She runs the house! She came, she purred, she conquered.

***

The campain is directly opposed  to the another one running by PETA.

Anna Wintour, american Vogue magazine’s editor-in-chief, has long been criticized for her fascinative partiality towards rare natural furs, and for more than a decade Anna Wintour annoys ‘green organizations’ with her constant and self-confident propaganda of rare furs. The style editor not not wears fur herself but also encourages the journal readership to favour natural furs towards artifical.

But… may it be that that it is an old fur coats that  Wintour wears today but was bought in the mid 70-ies ? Hopefully, it is not that by Cavalli ?

Anna Wintour. PETA Voguesucks.com

Anna Wintour. PETA Voguesucks.com

Interview extracts are take from here >>>
http://action.peta.org.uk/ea-campaign/clientcampaign.do?ea.client.id=5&ea.campaign.id=4308
This entry was posted in Ads photographs, Fashion, Green Fashion, La Vie In Fashion, Lika Bell, Models, Photography, Spring/Summer, Twiggy, Yana Chernyaheva and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

